Thought of the Day #1/2023

Who Are You Writing For?

How to find your audience

Chris Soschner
2 min readMay 15, 2023

--

Canva Pro Image

When I got interested in writing online, I found a lot of advice online.

  • Think about your main audience.
  • Define who you are writing for.
  • Research your audience's needs.
  • Write in the tone and style your audience likes reading.
  • Stay in your niche.
  • Don't switch from topic to topic.
  • Write every day.
  • Have fixed publishing times so your audience gets used to it.

So much advice and I was overwhelmed. There is so much I need to figure out first before it makes to start an online blog.

I like topics like entrepreneurship and investing. But do I have an audience?

And who is the audience in the first place?

Overwhelmed with questions like the above, I never got it started. Sure, I posted here and there on Twitter or Instagram; but since I didn't find the ultimate plan for my writing endeavor, I postponed the start repeatedly.

Then came March 2020 — and I believe everybody remembers what happened. The entire West went on lockdown.

--

--

Chris Soschner

👉 Want Insights from Top Entrepreneurs and Investors? Tune into my podcast to hear from industry leaders. https://beginnersmind.buzzsprout.com/